Adult Sex Offender Registration Requirements
A reader recently sent in a question wondering what the sex offender reporting requirements in Alabama are. Sex Offender registration and community notification requirements are laid out very specifically in Alabama law. In fact, 180 days prior to the release of an adult criminal sex offender, he or she is required to declare the address at which he or she will live and the name address of his or her employer, if any. Law enforcement then verifies this address prior to the sex offender’s release. Further, prior to release, every adult criminal sex offender convicted for a criminal sex offense must submit a DNA sample to his or her probation officer or the sheriff that will be sent to the Department of Forensic Sciences.
If after release a sex offender intends to move, he or she shall submit a notice of intent to the sheriff of the county and/or the chief of police of the municipality in which he or she resides, and to the sheriff of the county and/or chief of police of the municipality to which he or she plans to move at least 30 days prior to moving. A sex offender shall be deemed to have established a new residence whenever he or she lives at the residence for three consecutive days or more or spends 10 or more days at any location during a calendar month. Failure to report as required is a Class C felony.
Likewise, if a sex offender intends to change his or her place of employment, he or she shall submit a notice of intent to the sheriff of the county and/or the chief of police of the municipality in which he or she is then employed and to the sheriff of the county and/or chief of police of the municipality in which he or she intends to be employed, at least seven days prior to beginning employment. Failure to report a change in employment is a Class C felony.
Within five business days after the sex offender’s release or intent to transfer residence, in Cherokee County, the chief of police or the sheriff shall notify all persons who have a legal residence within 2,000 feet of the declared residence of the sex offender and all schools and child care facilities within three miles of the declared residence of the sex offender. This notification can be made by mailing a “community notification flyer,” posting a copy of the notice in the sheriff’s office or police station, publicizing the notice in a local newspaper, or through online notification.
If you want to search for sex offenders in any state, go to www.nsopw.gov. You can also conduct a local search at www.cherokeecountysheriff.com. Thanks to Investigator Bo Jolly of the Cherokee County Sheriff’s office for his help in writing this week’s column.
This column is intended for general information purposes only. It is not intended, nor should it be construed as personal legal advice. The answers to most legal problems rely on the specific facts of your situation; therefore, it is very important that you personally see a lawyer when these situations arise.